So it’s the end of March…

Standard

Oh my. I just have a difficult time figuring out how to write a new post! Things look so different to me!

I am stopping by to say ‘hi’. So many things have changed since the beginning of the year. Our son Sean is now living in Alexandria, Virginia as a new job in his field is there. No more long trips from New Jersey, in the middle of the night too!  He is renting a place 10 minutes away right now. And he is training to work in various places around the world. He mentioned Italy and I hope he goes there soon. I can live vicariously through him! He got his passport taken care of too. He lives in an interesting area and very close to Washington, DC. He moved at the end of January, so it’s been a few months almost. He’s been home once in that time.

A few weeks ago Sean was a bride’s groom in a wedding of a high school friend in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. We didn’t get to attend, but Sean had over 4 days down there.He had a great time.  He got use to traveling solo.

On the home front, we have really missed Sean, but we know this is a very good opportunity for a 30 year old

. Brian lost his one part time job right on Valentine’s Day. He just couldn’t keep up with the janitorial duties anymore. He has one job left as a bagger. He is working on getting disability. He has Parkinson’s and found out he needs double knee replacement. He is in terrible pain a lot of the time. I sure hope it improves him by 100%

I’m still working at the preschool/childcare area of a local church. I really enjoy the kiddos. I applied for another job at a daycare  and got offered a position, but I didn’t want to give up my church job, so had to say no, but said I was more available for hours in the summer months. I sort of know the owner from church and we never really spoke until I went for this job.

Brian has a few doctors appointments to prep for his surgery coming up. It’s not that close to where we live, near where I grew up. He is doing one knee at a time.

I have had some dental issues I can’t afford to get fixed. I hope to save up for a few visible ones. Sean opened a GoFundMe account (search Brian and Dianne) and he raised some money for us that helped with some of our $6k in dental bills.

Our parents have had issues. My mom has been ill with infections which wiped her out. His dad is having dementia episodes and is very hard of hearing as is my mom. Her hearing aides broke, he never got any. It’s a yelling match several times a day between Brian and his dad.

I have switched to crocheting for a few months and have had many calming times of making baby gifts, amigurumi animals and different items like ball jar sleeves. I made several small crocheted stockings as Christmas gifts and hope to make them again to sell at a church bazaar or two. I need to start making them. I had to get a cortisone shot in a ‘trigger’  finger earlier this month. It seems to have helped.

We also switched from cable to streaming tv. We like it! I have watched many series of Netflix (which I had already, but looked at mostly on the iPad) and Hulu. We are saving some money, but you need subscriptions to many of the apps like Sling and also the above. I’ll be back soon!

About Dianne

Domestic goddess, wife, mom, gardener, paper and collage artist, geocacher, local traveler, cross stitcher, baker, crafter, Facebooker, blogger, decorator and photographer.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s